My Weight Loss Story

My Weight Loss Story: How I Lost 40 lbs


The summer before my senior year of high school was the year that I gained twenty pounds. It was also the year that my family moved over from Tennessee (great place) to Greenville, South Carolina. Having no one I knew around me was lonely. I had a lot of free time just to reflect on things. And I became depressed, even a little angry. It felt my life was turning upside down. And I looked to food for comfort. Instead of going to God, I turned to food. I wasn’t even aware of the weight that I had gained (we had no scale to weigh ourselves at home) until I went to The Wilds for my senior year at highschool and got on a scale there. My eyes widened as I looked down at the number on the scale. The number read about 160 pounds. I don’t recall the exact number, I just remember being mortified. I wondered if I was ever going to lose the weight or just gradually keep gaining more.


For a while, I did nothing. I just went about living my life as normal. And then a guy made a suggestion to me that I should lose weight, and for some reason, that almost made me want to gain weight.


And still, I chose not to lose any weight. It wasn’t until around April, when I had bought a dress that I didn’t quite fit in that I decided to really start losing weight. It was my junior senior dress. The week before the banquet, I went on a low carb diet and probably really started to lose weight.


I remember being really hungry that week. And I did eat everyday. After that week, I probably must have shed at least twelve pounds, but I wasn’t sure (we did not have a scale at home).
I began to eat semi-normally after that week, now kind of conscious that now, maybe I should be losing weight. It wasn’t until the summer that I really began to exercise and eat healthy that I began to lose a bunch more weight. That was a summer of prayer and exercise. I wasn’t even sure how much weight I had lost. I just now knew my clothes weren’t fitting as tight, some were even lose.I lost that weight in I think a pretty healthy way. I had also stopped drinking soda, and to this day, will not drink a sip.
Freshman year of college came about. And for the first semester I tried to eat healthy and exercise, but I may have gone a bit overboard. First semester I think was mostly fine.
I also bought a scale and over Christmas break, now noticed my weight was down to 126 pounds. I was surprised because I still thought that maybe I was around 140 pounds.


Second semester was when a few people were starting to get concerned. I remember skipping lunch most Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays and walking twenty minutes to where I worked each day. Sometimes only eating a granola bar before dinner. I ate lunch just about every Tuesday and Thursday, and there was never a day that I didn’t go without dinner, but I was getting skinny.


I weighed myself just about everyday. One day, I noticed my weight was 118 pounds, this was an almost underweight BMI for my heaight.
Maybe I was getting too skinny. . . .I noticed I was getting some looks from people that knew me the year before.
My mom threatened me with therapy, and so I began eating normally. I ended up gaining some weight back.
For the most part, I don’t struggle with this anymore. I tend to eat fairly normally and regulary now. Now, I am even exercising over the break, not to lose weight, but to get stronger and more toned. I also exercise to lift my mood. It also does tend to make me feel better and give me more energy.

Some things that have helped me/advice that I would have given myself at that time in my life….

1.) Bring it to the Father. He created you. He loves you. He adores you. You are His. He cares about your every thought, your every desire. You are created in His image to good works in Christ Jesus, which he foreordained that you should do.

Your body is a temple (if Christ lives inside of you) . Whether therefore ye eat or drink, or whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God.

Is how you’re eating bringing glory to God?

God created you exactly how He wanted you to be for a reason.

Pray through it.

Another thing that helped me was that as I realized that as I began to eat less and less, I had less energy to do what God had called me to do for that season in my life.

I now know that God did not want me to treat my body like that. Not only was I His creation, my body was also a temple of the Holy Ghost, and He wanted me to take care of it.

Every good and perfect gift is from above—I think this must include food.

Don’t compare your body with anybody else’s. You’re not anyone else. You’re you, uniquely, beautifully you. There’s no one like you. 💕

#yourebeautiful, yourelovedbytheCreatoroftheuniverse, #weightloss #weightlossstory #doallthingsforHisglory